The Lagos State Police Command has taken stock of its losses during the EndSARS protest violence attack, declaring that six policemen were killed during the unrest.
Also, 13 Police formations and 58 police patrol vehicles were burnt by suspected hoodlums who allegedly hijacked the protest.
The Lagos State Police Commissioner, Hakeem Odumosu gave the figure while briefing journalists on the efforts of the Command during the protest.
Odumosu identified the murdered policemen as ASP Yard Edward, attached to  Denton Police Station,, Inspector Olayinka Erinfolami, attached to the defunct Anti-Kidnapping Unit, Inspector Adegbenro Aderibigbe attached to Meiran Division, Sergeant Abejide Abiodun attached to DOPS SHQ and two others attached to Orile Division.
He informed that 38 policemen from various formations and locations were also injured.
The Police Commissioner listed the  burnt police stations to include Orile,  Amukoko, Layeni,  Old Area “J” Command Ajah, Elemoro, New Area “J” Command Elemoro, Igando, Ebute-Ero, Ajah,and its barracks and Ilasamaja Police Stations.
According to Odumosu, they include Makinde and its barracks, Ikotun, Isokoko, Pen Cinema, Onipanu, Alade Police Stations.
” Thirteen formations were vandalised amongst which were Ojo and Ojodu Stations.
The following police posts were burnt: Cele, Ilogbo-Elerin, Shibiri, Defunct Anti-cultism office, Gbagada, Defunct SARS Office Onilekere, Makoko, Daleko, Ashamu, Makinyo, Amuwo-Odofin, Defunct Anti- Kidnapping Office, Surulere and Old SARS Office Ajegunle.
During the unrest, the police posts that were vandalised by the hoodlums included PPL, Mowo, Morogbo, Ikota and Marwa police posts”, the police Commissioner added.
Odumosu also disclosed 62 vehicles belonging to individuals and those connected with some pending cases as exhibit were burnt, while nine vehicles were vandalised by the hoodlums.
Speaking further, he said some public facilities were also burnt and vandalised, with some partly torched during the unrest.
He identified them as  High Court Complex, Igbosere, Lagos Island, Lagos State DNA and Forensic Centre, broad street, Lagos  Island, Ejigbo LCDA Secretariat, BRT Terminal Iddo, where 67 buses were burnt, City Hall, Lagos Island Covid-19 Warehouse at Monkey Village,BRT Terminals at Ojodu, where only the vehicles parked outside the main buildings within their compounds were burnt.
In addition, the police boss said some private facilities also  were either  touched, vandalised or looted, which include the palace of Oba of Lagos, Television Continental Station at Ikosi, Ketu, Access Bank, GTBank, and Ebeano Super market at Victoria Island.
They also include the Nation Newspaper Office at Fatai Steer Street, Matori, Mushin, where only vehicles were burnt, Shoprite Malls at Ajah, LTV 8, Alausa, Ikeja, Surulere, Samsung Apo Roundabout, Festac, Shoprite at Festac, Samsung office Oyingbo among others.
Odumosu added that some of the looted items from the outlets and offices have been recovered.

Please share... Sharing is caring


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here